A certificate like this demonstrates to your customers that quality management is important to you and provides proof that you are committed to quality in healthcare.

What is DIN EN 15224?

DIN EN 15224 is applicable to all healthcare institutions, from doctors’ surgeries and nursing homes to hospitals. The principles and structure of the standard are based on the proven DIN EN ISO 9001. Alongside general requirements for the organization and its quality management (QM) system, DIN EN 15224 sets specific requirements in terms of patient safety and clinical processes.

What are the eleven quality features of healthcare in line with DIN EN 15224?

Unlike other standards covering QM systems, DIN EN 15224 defines eleven clear quality features that must be met in the field of healthcare:

  1. Appropriate, correct care
  2. Availability
  3. Continuity of care
  4. Effectiveness
  5. Efficiency
  6. Consistency
  7. Evidence-based/knowledge-based care
  8. Care geared toward the patient, including their physical and psychological integrity
  9. Involvement of the patient
  10. Patient safety
  11. Timeliness and accessibility

How does certification take place? 

In the first step, a document inspection is performed. This is followed by an audit at the company’s premises, in which the requirements are checked and assessed. Following successful certification, you will receive the TÜV PROFiCERT certificate for DIN EN 15224. The certificate is valid for three years and must be confirmed in annual monitoring audits.

What are the benefits of certification under DIN EN 15224? 

Alongside the quality assurance aspect, quality management is focused on organization and processes. It comprises systematic monitoring and control of clinical processes and helps minimize avoidable clinical risks. Quality management is becoming increasingly important in terms of reducing liability and risk and protecting against potential organizational fault. Lower liability risks are of financial relevance and thus have a decisive influence on the quality of services as an economic factor.

Who is the standard aimed at?

  • Primary care
  • Pre-clinical care
  • Hospital care
  • Tertiary care
  • Nursing homes
  • Hospices
  • Healthcare providers
  • Psychiatric care
  • Dental health services
  • Physiotherapy
  • Occupational safety and health services
  • Rehabilitation
  • Pharmacies

Would you like further information or a meeting?

Then simply get in touch with us:

TÜV Hessen certification body

Robert-Bosch-Straße 16
D-64293 Darmstadt
Tel. +49 6151 600-331
Fax: +49 6151 600-336
Email: Contact

Request an offer directly for this certificate or for a certificate package.

Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)

This service contributes to the following goals for sustainable development:

(Click a goal to reveal an explanation.)